Commentary & Analysis Events

Deep Dive Live: Voting Diagrams with Ka-Ping Yee

If you’re deep into the voting methods space, you may have come across Yee Diagrams — two-dimensional depictions of voter behavior under different voting methods.

These diagrams were created by Ka-Ping Yee, a software engineer with a background in election systems from his graduate studies in computer security at UC Berkeley.

In our upcoming Deep Dive Live, we’ll sit down with Yee himself to discuss his work, including his popular Yee diagrams which demonstrate modeled voting method behavior in two dimensions. We’ll also look at Yee’s projects including the one-dimensional model allowing individuals to create their own elections.

While at Berkeley, Ping happened to be in the right place at the right time to participate in a voting machine security review commissioned by the Secretary of State of California, the results of which led to the decertification of all voting machines without paper trails in California in 2007.  Since then, he has worked in humanitarian relief (with Google and Doctors Without Borders) and more recently in progressive politics (at Tech For Campaigns).

Deep Dive Live: Voting Diagrams with Ka-Ping Yee
Date: Thursday, June 17th, 2021
Time: 7:30pm ET/ 6:30pm CT/ 5:30pm MT/ 4:30pm PT
Location: Zoom Conference

RSVP Now!