CES Updates

CES Welcomes Interim Executive Director

April 5, 2023


Center for Election Science (CES) Announces Departure of Executive Director and Co-Founder, Welcomes Interim Executive Director Justine Metz

The Center for Election Science (CES), a nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting voting reform and advancing approval voting, announced today the departure of its Executive Director and Co-Founder, Aaron Hamlin. Aaron has served in this role since the organization’s inception in 2011 and has been instrumental in building CES into the successful organization it is today.

During his tenure, Aaron has been a tireless advocate for voting reform, leading CES in its efforts to bring approval voting to the communities of Fargo, ND and St. Louis, MO. Under his leadership, CES has become a respected voice in voting reform.

“We are grateful to Aaron for his dedication in building CES from the ground up,” said Felix Sargent, Chair of the Board of Directors. “His unwavering commitment to our mission is inspiring, and we wish him all the best in his future endeavors.”

As CES moves forward to its next chapter of growth and impact, the organization will be led by Interim Executive Director Justine Metz. Both the Board and staff are confident in her ability to guide CES through this transition given Justine’s 30+ years of leadership experience, which includes her role as Chief Marketing Officer at Bank of America. Most recently, Justine served as Interim CEO of Colorado Inclusive Economy, a collaborative of executive business leaders focused on making Colorado the most inclusive and diverse state in the nation.  

“Justine is a valued member of the CES Board, and we are fortunate to have someone with her skills and experience stepping into this role,” said Sargent. “The Board is committed to finding a new Executive Director who will help advance our mission in the years ahead.”

CES thanks Aaron Hamlin for his years of service and wishes him all the best in his future endeavors. The organization looks forward to continuing its important work in advancing voting reform under the leadership of Justine Metz and its next Executive Director.

For more information, please contact Brandi Matthews at brandi@electionscience.org.